The Amazing Lifecycle Of Frogs and Toads

This page may contain affiliate links.
Read our disclosure and privacy policy here.

The lifecycle of frogs and toads is a fascinating process that really showcases the wonders of nature. It all begins when adult frogs or toads lay their eggs in water. These eggs eventually hatch into tiny, aquatic creatures called tadpoles. Tadpoles have gills and swim using their tails, just like fish. But as they grow, something extraordinary happens: they undergo a remarkable transformation known as metamorphosis. During this stage, their bodies change dramatically. They develop lungs for breathing air, their tails shrink, and their legs start to form. They’re turning from water-dwelling tadpoles into land-dwelling frogs or toads! Once they complete their metamorphosis, they leave the water and explore their new terrestrial habitat.  Frogs and toads play an important role in the ecosystem by controlling insect populations and serving as a food source for other animals. Let’s take a closer look at each of the steps in the lifecycle of frogs and toads.

Table of Contents

The Amazing Lifecycle Of Frogs and Toads

frog lifecycle

Stage 1: Eggs

Frog and toad eggs

The first stage of the frog lifecycle is the egg stage.

The first stage of the frog and toad lifecycle is the egg stage. This is where the journey of life begins for these amazing amphibians. Adult frogs or toads lay their eggs in water, typically in ponds, lakes, or wetlands. The eggs are usually laid in large clusters or masses, and they are covered with a jelly-like substance that protects them from harm. Inside each egg, a tiny embryo starts developing.  The eggs remain in the water until they hatch into tadpoles.  If you’re interested in exploring this stage in more detail, check out this article about frog and toad eggs.

Stage 2: Tadpoles

The second stage of the frog lifecycle is the tadpole stage. After hatching from the eggs, the tiny tadpoles emerge and live in the water. Tadpoles look very different from adult frogs. They have long tails, no legs, and gills for breathing underwater. Tadpoles spend most of their time eating and growing. They have a specialized mouth called a “mouthpart” that helps them scrape algae and other plant matter for food. As they grow, they go through a process called metamorphosis. This is when their bodies start to change. They develop hind legs first, followed by front legs, and their tail gradually shrinks. At this stage, they also start developing lungs, which allow them to breathe air. Eventually, the tadpole fully transforms into a frog. It’s an incredible transformation!  

You can learn a few more cool facts about tadpoles in this article.

tadpole side view

This cute little tadpole is the second stage of the frog lifecycle.

Stage 3: Metamorphosis

The third stage of frog and toad development is a fascinating transformation called metamorphosis. During this stage, both frogs and toads undergo significant changes as they transition from aquatic tadpoles to terrestrial adults.

For frogs, this stage begins when the tadpole starts to develop hind legs. The hind legs grow first and allow the tadpole to swim more effectively. As the hind legs continue to grow, the front legs begin to appear. Eventually, the tail starts to shrink, and the tadpole develops lungs for breathing air. It starts to spend more time near the water’s surface, using its developed legs to propel itself and explore the land. Over time, the tail disappears completely, and the tadpole transforms into a fully formed frog.

Frog metamorphosis

In the metamorphosis stage, the tadpole grows legs and arms, and gradually loses its tail.

Similarly, for toads, the third stage involves the development of hind legs and then front legs. As the legs grow, the tail gradually diminishes, and the toad tadpole adapts to life on land. The toad tadpole’s body shape changes, becoming more robust and less streamlined compared to its aquatic stage. Eventually, the tail is absorbed, and the toad completes its metamorphosis into an adult toad.

It’s important to note that the exact timing and duration of this stage can vary between frog and toad species. Some species may complete metamorphosis relatively quickly, while others may take several weeks or even months.

The third stage of development is a remarkable and critical phase in the life of frogs and toads. It allows them to transition from their aquatic habitat to a life on land, where they will continue to grow and mature into adult frogs or toads. Check out these facts about frog metamorphosis you might not know aobut.

Stage 4: Young Adult

Once the metamorphosis is complete, the young frogs and toads leave the water and venture onto land. They have fully developed legs and lungs, allowing them to explore a new world. At this stage, they are still small and may look different from the adult frogs and toads. Did you know that some young frogs and toads have bright colors that act as a warning to predators? It’s their way of saying, “Don’t eat me, I’m toxic!” Young frogs face a number of new challenges now that they are partly terrestrial.  Read this to learn more about the incredible challenges faced by froglets and toadlets.


Froglets are miniature versions of adult frogs.  They’re just gone through metamorphosis, but still have a lot of growing to do.

Stage 5: Adult Frogs and Toads

As the young frogs and toads continue to grow, they eventually reach adulthood. They now have their distinct adult form, with all the features that make each species unique. Adult frogs and toads have powerful hind legs for hopping and catching prey. They also have specialized skin that helps them breathe and stay moist. Did you know that some frogs and toads can jump up to 20 times their own body length? That’s like a human jumping over a school bus!

Northern Leopard Frog

Adult frogs were strong enough and resourceful enough to survive a lot of challenges.  Now their next challenge is to find a mate to reproduce and crate the next generation of tadpoles!

Stage 6: Breeding

Once adult frogs and toads reach sexual maturity, they are ready to breed and continue the cycle of life. During the breeding season, males call out to attract females. Their calls can vary greatly among species, from high-pitched chirping to deep croaking. You can check out some frog calls in our Frog ID section.

Red Eyed Tree Frog Mating

Frogs breed in a process called amplexus.  The male frog fertilizes the eggs as the female lays them.  This process can last hours or even days!

Stage 7: Parenting

After successful mating, female frogs and toads lay their eggs, completing the lifecycle. But here’s an interesting fact: not all frogs and toads abandon their eggs after laying them. Some species, like the male Darwin’s frog, carry the eggs in their vocal sacs until they hatch!

Frogs and toads have many different ways of parenting.  Some will not care for the eggs at all after they are laid. Some others go to the extreme of carrying their young in their mouth until they are ready to go out on their own!  The poison dart frog (Andonobates bombetes) pictured above will carry newly hatched tadpoles on its back until it find a suitable pond where it can drop them off.

Let's Go Avocado Team

There’s a lot to explore right where we are, in our own neighborhoods and backyards! Join us while we get off the couch and explore the everyday wonders of nature, science, space, engineering, art, and anything else we stumble upon during on our adventures.

More Posts: